The SSC CGL Tier I Exam . This is the time for you to roll up your sleeves and start preparing for the SSC CGL Tier I . Here is the detailed SSC CGL syllabus for Tier I exam. This Detailed SSC CGL Syllabus tells you the weightage (mark-distribution) of various topics, priority order, importance, number of questions you can expect from each topic and types of questions.

The following detailed SSC CGL syllabus for Tier I exam will also give you a section-wisepreparation strategy along with an overall look for all topics in the syllabus. It will tell you the mark distribution so that you can decide which topics to prepare first and how much time to devote to them.

First let us look at the exam pattern for SSC CGL Tier I

SSC CGL Tier I Exam Pattern

Subject Questions Marks Time
General Intelligence
& Reasoning
25 50 75 minutes (Total)


For VH & Candidates
suffering from
Cerebral Palsy:
100 minutes

General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Language 25 50
TOTAL 100 200

Negative Marking: There will be negative marking of 0.5 marks for each wrong answer in the Tier I exam.